23. St John’s, Anglican
87 rue Carleton Street, Saint John (1826)
The interesting Gothic details of the front façade of this church belie its Georgian origin. The proper name of this church is St. John’s, but it is known as “Stone Church”. It is the oldest surviving stone church in New Brunswick. A great variety of stone, from rubble sandstone to granite, to ballast used by ships on their journey from England, was used in its construction.
Carved in the stone on the front of the church is the date 1825 but the church was not consecrated until 1826 by Bishop John Inglis, third Bishop of Nova Scotia. The Stone Church was known as the ‘Garrison Church’. In the early days the Garrison paraded to church while they remained quartered in the city.
The very beautiful “East” Chancel Window was shipped from England in 1895. When assembled the heads of St. Mark and St. Luke were attached to the wrong bodies by mistake. There are wonderful stained glass windows along either side of the church, including two from Germany in which the colours, ornate robes and halos are worth noting.
An interesting feature of the tower is the carved ‘Star of David’, which can be claimed by Christians as well as being a symbol of the Jewish faith.
Stone church was declared a National Historic Site in 1992. This vibrant congregation today ministers to its local community.
STONE CHURCH IS OPEN DAILY, AND OFFERS A SELF GUIDED TOUR OF ITS HIGHLIGHTS IN THE SUMMER.